Our 5 Main Categories
For each category, the 1st place winner will receive $1,000.

OPEN Short Film or Documentary
7 Minutes or Less
OPEN Local History
Documentary or Non-Fiction Short Film
7 Minutes or Less

For this category, the short film or documentary must almost exclusively revolve around a pre-2000s event or story.

UNDER 18s Short Film or Documentary
5 Minutes or Less
OPEN Super Short Film
2 Minutes or Less
SCHOOLS Short Film or Documentary
5 Minutes or Less

2024 Now in Season 3

For each of these five main categories, the 1st place winner will receive a $1,000. There will also be Awards of Recognition to be announced at a later date and awarded at our Gala Awards Night.

To be eligible, your project must have been filmed, animated or produced within one of the regions of the festival in Western Australia (anywhere between SOUTH of the Swan River and WEST of the Kwinana Freeway. This includes: City of Rockingham, City of Fremantle, Town of East Fremantle, City of Kwinana, City of Melville, City of Cockburn (including Rottnest Island), and City of Mandurah (up until the Pinjarra Road cutoff point North of the Murray River). If it does not visibly depict or feature a locally recognisable landmark from any of these regions, then please include in your submission the place(s) it was filmed, for us to verify.  See below map.

To make this film festival as accessible as possible, we require you to either add subtitles to your project, OR, provide us with a text document with a transcript for all speech/dialogue, so that our editor can add them. All non-English entries must have English subtitles to be considered for shortlisting.

For Terms & Conditions, Click on our Film Freeway Submissions Button (below).

Follow us on Instagram.    Follow us on Facebook   Follow us on YouTube 


We reserve the right to make amendments to any aspect of the festival at our sole discretion.